Archive for the ‘Awards’ Category


Entries are being accepted for the 2013 Thurber Prize for American Humor!

January 3, 2013

The new year means a new Thurber Prize for American Humor, and Thurber House is now accepting entries for the 2013 prize. Books published in 2012 are eligible for entry.

Started in 1997, the Thurber Prize is the only recognition of the art of humor writing in the United States. Past winners have included Calvin Trillin, David Rakoff, Christopher Buckley, Ian Frazier, David Sedaris, and many others – check out the complete list of winners here.

The winner will be announced on September 30 at an event at Caroline’s Comedy Club on Broadway in New York City. Prize winners receive $5,000 and a commemorative plaque, along with an invitation to visit Columbus, Ohio (Thurber House will pay your airfare and hotel) and speak at a special ticketed event.

The judges for the 2013 prize are: Laurie Notaro, two-time Thurber Prize finalist; Nate DiMeo, 2012 Thurber Prize finalist; and Lisa Birnbach, co-author of The Official Preppy Handbook and True Prep: It’s a Whole New Old World.

Entries are due by Monday, April 1, 2013. More information, guidelines, and the prize application are available on our website.


One of the Ten Best in Columbus

May 9, 2012

Thurber House was just named one of the ten best Columbus attractions and activities by We are so proud to be included in such a great list with other fantastic Columbus attractions! Check out the list here.


Thurber Prize for American Humor Finalists

August 19, 2011

Nearly a year has flown by since we awarded Steve Hely the Thurber Prize for American Humor for his hilarious novel, How I Became a Famous Novelist, and we’re excited to announce this year’s prize finalists!

They are:

Mike BirbigliaSleepwalk with Me and Other Painfully True Stories

David RakoffHalf Empty

Rick ReillySports from Hell: My Search for the World’s Dumbest Competition

If you’re not familiar with the Thurber Prize for American Humor, here’s a little bit about it: The Thurber Prize for American Humor is the only recognition of humor writing in the United States. It began in 1997 as a biennial award, and then it became an annual award in 2004. Each year, the winner is announced at a special event at the Algonquin Hotel in New York City (where James Thurber used to live). The Thurber Humor Prize comes with a monetary award for the winner, who comes to Columbus for a ticketed event within a year of winning the award.

Past winners have included Ian Frazier, The Onion, David Sedaris, Christopher Buckley, Jon Stewart, Alan Zweibel, Joe Keenan, Larry Doyle, and Steve Hely.

This year the Thurber Humor Prize event is Monday, October 3. Stay tuned to find out who won!


2010 Thurber Prize for American Humor Announced!

October 5, 2010

The 2010 Thurber Prize for American Humor was awarded Monday, October 4 to Steve Hely for his debut novel, How I Became a Famous Novelist. The award was presented at the Algonquin Hotel in New York City.

Hely, a Boston native and graduate from Harvard University, is a comedy writer for the NBC series The Office. He has also written for 30 Rock, The Late Show With David Letterman, and the animated comedy American Dad.

Finalists for the 2010 Thurber Prize for American Humor were Jancee Dunn, Why Is My Mother Getting a Tattoo, and Rhoda Janzen, Mennonite in a Little Black Dress.


Ian Frazier wins Thurber Prize!

October 7, 2009

Ian FrazierIan Frazier became the first two-time winner of the Thurber Prize for American Humor on Monday, October 5. Frazier was the first recipient of the Thurber Prize in 1997 for Coyote vs. Acme. He won this year for his novel, Lamentations of the Father. The award reception, hosted by Alan Zweibel (2006 Thurber Prize Winner for his novel, The Other Shulman) was held in the Algonuin Hotel in New York City.

Finalists for the 2009 Thurber Prize included Sloane Crosley for her first novel, I Was Told There’d Be Cake, Don Lee’s hilarious, Wrack and Ruin, and Laurie Notaro’s must read, The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death.


And the Winners Are…

September 21, 2009

The 2009 Columbus Literary Award winners have been announced! Sponsored by the Greater Columbus Arts Council and administered by Thurber House, the biennial Columbus Literary Awards recognize the most outstanding literary works produced by Franklin County writers in the genres of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

The 2009 winners are:

  • POETRY: David Culwell. Culwell received the 2008 Thomas Merton Price for Poetry of the Sacred. He has published several poems and works of fiction.
  • FICTION: Jaime Lee Moyer. Though her poetry has been nominated for the Rhysling Award the past three years, Moyer won the Columbus Literary Award for her work, Delia’s Shadow.
  • NONFICTION: Stephanie Harrison. Editor of the anthology Adaptations: From Short Story to Big Screen, Harrison has published several articles and short works of fiction in many journals, including Poets & Writers magazine.

All three winners will be celebrated at a reception and reading of their works on Wednesday, October 14, at 5:30 p.m. at Thurber Center, next door to Thurber House. The event is free, but reservations must be made by Monday, October 12. To RSVP, call Anne Touvell, (614) 464-1032 x10.

For more about the Columbus Literary Awards, visit